Start Country profile - Next 
Interactive map of Montenegro. © Google Maps & quikmaps

Montenegro means "black mountain" (Crna Gora in the local language), the name that sailors from Venice gave to the mountains towering over the coast of Montenegro.

Key facts:

Official Name:


Date of Independence:

4 June 2006 (and from 1878-1919).

Independence Vote:

55.4 percent voted for independence on 21 May 2006.


620,000 (latest census, 2003; 628,000 estimated for 2008. Source: MONSTAT, national Statistical Office)


Podgorica (144,000)

Other important cities:

Cetinje (former capital), Niksic, Bar, Kotor; Pljevlja and Bjelo Polje in the North.


13,812 sq km (5,333 sq miles)

Main religions:

Christianity (Orthodox and Catholic), Islam


Serbian/Montenegrin, Albanian

Main ethnic groups

Montenegrins   43 %,


Serbs               32 %


Bosniaks          8 %


Albanians         5 %


Muslims           4 %


Croats             1 %


Undeclared      4%


Unknown         0.99%




Filip Vujanovic since May 2003. (Re-elected April 2008)

Prime minister:

Milo Djukanovic since March 2009 (6th term)

EU relations

A Stabilisation and Association Agreement was signed with the EU in 2007 and entered into force in May 2010. Montenegro submitted its application to become a candidate for EU accession in December 2008.

International organizations:

Montenegro joined the UN as its 192nd member state in June 2006, joined NATO's Membership Action Plan in December 2009, and is also a member of the IMF, the World Bank, the Council of Europe, and the OSCE.

Political parties:  

Following the most recent elections in 2009 the following parties are represented in the 81-seat Parliament.
The Democratic Party of Socialists (DPS), led by Milo Djukanovic, has 35 seats and governs in coalition with the small Social-Democratic Party (SDP), led by Ranko Krivokapic, the current speaker of the Assembly. The Croatian Civic Initiative (HGI) and the Bosniak Party (BS) have also joined the ruling coalition.
The Socialist People's Party (SNP) is the largest opposition party, with 16 seats. Center-left oriented, it opposed to independence in the 2006 referendum. Since the 2006 election, it has sought to reposition itself as a pro-European party under its leader, Srdjan Milic.
The New Serb Democracy (NSD or NOVA), led by Andrija Mandic, has 8 seats. It has been formed in 2009 by the merger of the Serb People

August 2010

 Start Country profile - Next