Back 6 - Next 

European Standards

Alhambra - Court of the Myrtles

'Architectural heritage constitutes an irreplaceable expression of the richness and diversity of Europe's cultural heritage'

Granada Convention (1985)

In October 1985 European Ministers gathered in the Andalusian town of Granada and passed a resolution calling for "a process of active conservation" of European cultural heritage. They underlined:

"that each country is responsible for the protection of the architectural heritage within its own territory, whatever its historical, cultural or national origin, and that the conservation of this heritage is a matter of general European importance."

The signatories to the Granada Convention undertook to protect their cultural heritage; to maintain inventories of what is to be protected; and to ensure that the revitalisation of historic towns and neighbourhoods would be a priority for urban planning.

The Granada conclusions stress the importance of 'extending the categories of assets due for protection to cover examples of vernacular, rural, technical and industrial architecture and nineteenth and twentieth century architecture'. They stress that the 'conservation and enhancement of the cultural heritage should be based on active citizen participation'. Cultural heritage can only survive if it is appreciated by the public at large.

Over the years, a set of European conventions and resolutions – including the 1975 European Charter of Architectural Heritage, the Granada Convention (1985), the European Convention on the Protection of Archeological Heritage (1992) and the Convention on Landscape (2000) - added up to a coherent and detailed body of commitments and standards.

These should be the standards by which the outside world and Kosovo citizens measure the performance of Kosovo institutions.

 Back 6 - Next