Back 28 - Next 

Joost Lagendijk, GroenLinks member of the European parliament and leader of the Dutch GroenLinks delegation there

Joost Lagendijk
Green party (GroenLinks)
"The argumentation of advocates for a 'membership light' [
 Back 28 - Next 

The Dutch debate on Turkey

  1. Peter Ludlow, chairman of EuroComment [] and founding Director of CEPS
  2. Jan Peter Balkenende, Dutch Prime Minister (CDA) since 2002
  3. Bernard Bot, Foreign Minister
  4. Jan Jacob Van Dijk, CDA-fraction spokesman for European affairs in the Second Chamber
  5. Camiel Eurlings, a CDA member of the European Parliament since 2004. Rapporteur on Turkey, chairman of the EU-Turkish delegation and member of the Foreign Affairs Committee
  6. Arie Oostlander, Dutch MEP from 1989 to 2004, and European Parliament Turkey Rapporteur until 2004
  7. Hans van den Broek, former Minister of Foreign Affairs, and a member of the "Independent Turkey Commission"
  8. Ab Klink, director of the CDA Scientific Council
  9. Marnix van Rij, a former chairman of the CDA and now a board member of Trouw, a daily newspaper
  10. René van der Linden, President of the parliamentary assembly of the Council of Europe
  11. Jaap De Hoop Scheffer, secretary general of NATO since 2003, Dutch minister of Foreign Affairs from 2002 to 2004
  12. Atzo Nicolaï, Minister for European Affairs [which corresponds to the position of State Secretary for Foreign Affairs] since 2002
  13. Jozias Van Aartsen, leader of the VVD parliamentary faction from 2003 to 2006, and also the political director of the VVD
  14. Hans Van Baalen, a VVD MP since 2003. He is VVD-fraction spokesman for European affairs in the Second Chamber
  15. Frits Bolkestein, a VVD member of the Dutch parliament since 1978 and a minister of several Dutch cabinets. From 1999 to 2004, he was the European Commissioner responsible for Internal Market, Taxation, and Customs
  16. Ayaan Hirsi Ali, a VVD MP
  17. Laurens Jan Brinkhorst, Dutch minister for Economic Affairs
  18. Louisewies van der Laan, since February 2006 leader of the D66 parliamentary faction in the Second Chamber of the Dutch parliament, and a MP since 2004
  19. Boris Dittrich, a D66 member of parliament since 1994, and from 2003 to early 2006 leader of the D66 parliamentary faction in the Second Chamber of the Dutch parliament
  20. Boris Van der Ham, a D66 member of parliament. In the party that has for four decades pledged for referendums to be hold in the Netherlands, he turned out to remain isolated with his pledge for a referendum on Turkey
  21. Wouter Bos, a PvdA member of parliament since 1998, and since 2002 the faction leader of the PvdA in the Second Chamber
  22. Frans Timmermans, a PvdA member of parliament since 1998, and currently the chairman of the Second Chamber`s Foreign Affairs Committee
  23. Nebahat Albayrak, a PvDA member of parliament since 1998 (and the first Dutch Turkish MP of eventually five in 2003), and the chair of the Defense Committee
  24. Jan Marinus Wiersma, a PvdA member of the European parliament since 1994, Vice-President of the Socialist Group in the European Parliament, and a member of the Foreign Affairs Committee
  25. Max Van den Berg, a PvdA MEP since 1999 and the leader of the EP`s PvdA delegation
  26. Erik Meijer, a SP member of the European parliament since 1999, and until 1996 a politician with GroenLinks
  27. Mat Herben, a LPF member of parliament since 2002, and since 2004 the LPF faction leader
  28. Joost Lagendijk, GroenLinks member of the European parliament and leader of the Dutch GroenLinks delegation there
  29. Farah Karimi, GroenLinks member of parliament since 1998
  30. Wijnand Duyvendak, a GroenLinks member of parliament since 2002
  31. Kees van der Staaij, a SGP member of parliament since 1998
  32. André Rouvoet, a member of parliament since 1994, and since 2001 the leader of the ChristenUnie faction in the Second Chamber
  33. Johannes Blokland, a ChristenUnie member of the European parliament since 1994
  34. The Opposition Group Wilders [Groep Wilders], seats in parliament: 1 [party emerged after Wilders defected from the VVD over Turkey in autumn 2004. He subsequently formed his own party, the Group Wilders.]
  35. Tacan Ildem, Turkish ambassador to the Netherlands since 2003
  36. Sjoerd Gosses, Dutch ambassador to Turkey from 1999 to 2005. He presented both the Dutch and the subsequent Luxembourg presidency of the EU in Ankara in late 2004 and early 2005
  37. R.F.M. Lubbers [Chair] and then-members of the Advisory Council on International Affairs [AIV; Adviesraad Internationale Vraagstukken], publishing a 57-page, inter-disciplinary report, 'Towards calmer waters: a report on relations between Turkey and the E
  38. Wendy Asbeek Brusse and Jan Schoonenboom, authors of the 2004 Netherlands Scientific Council [WRR] report, 'The European Union, Turkey and Islam.'
  39. Erik Jan Zürcher, professor of Turkish languages and cultures at the University of Leiden since 1997
  40. Rinus Penninx, professor of Ethnic Studies and director of the Institute for Migration and Ethnic Studies [IMES] of the University of Amsterdam since 1993
  41. Maurits Berger, Robert van Roijen: Maurits Berger is connected to the Clingendael institute, Robert van Roijer studies history in Groningen
  42. Mendeltje van Keulen and Rob Boudewijn, Clingendael Institute
  43. Paul Schnabel, General Director, Social and Cultural Planning Office of the Netherlands
  44. Paul Scheffer, former member of the European Integration group at the AIV [see above], also a former member of the PvdA Wiarda Beckman Institute, and an internationally renown writer and commentator
  45. Dirk-Jan van Baar is a commentator on international affairs with the weekly magazine, HP/De Tijd, which has been divided internally on the question of Turkish EU accession
  46. Syp Wynia, a commentator on European and national affairs with the Elsevier magazine. The magazine has been most staunchly opposed to Turkish EU membership among Dutch print media
  47. Eric Outshoorn, foreign editor at the left-liberal Volkskrant daily newspaper
  48. Jan Jonker Roelants, former consul general in Istanbul and chairman of the Netherlands-Turkey Foundation
  49. Thomas von der Dunk, a cultural historian and outspoken opponent to Turkish EU membership
  50. Antony Burgmans, chairman of Unilever and chairman of the working group Expansion of the European Union of the European Round Table, a think tank of the fifty most important enterprises in Europe
  51. Winand Quaedvlieg, Deputy Director for International Economic Affairs at the Confederation of Netherlands Industry and Employers, VNO-NCW
  52. Victor Halberstadt, a professor of economics at Leiden University, a board member of Koc University in Istanbul, and a long-standing moderator of the Turkey panels at the World Economic Forum in Davos
  53. Nout Wellink, governor of the Dutch Central Bank
  54. The late Wim Duisenberg, former president of the European Central Bank, who died of a heart attack in summer 2005. In his last article, written shortly before his death, he pleaded for the EU to welcome Turkey as a member
  55. Bishop Frans Wiertz, since 1993 bishop of the Catholic Diocese of Roermond, one of seven Roman-Catholic dioceses in the Archdiocese of Utrecht
  56. Haci Karacaer, Chairman of Milli Gürüs Noordse Holland