Novi Sad, Bulevar Evrope. Photo: flickr/Milos Novakovic
Novi Sad, Bulevar Evrope. Photo: flickr/Milos Novakovic

Official Name:

Republic of Serbia

Date of independence:

5 June 2006 (Separated from Montenegro)


7,498,001 (2002 census, State Statistical Office)

82.6% Serbs, 3.91% Hungarians, 1.82% Bosnians, 1.44% Roma, 0.94% Croats, 0.92% Montenegrins, 0.82% Albanians, 0.53% Vlachs, 7.02% others

Capital city:

Belgrade (1,576,124 inhabitants, Census 2002)

Other important cities:

Novi Sad, Nis, Kragujevac


77,474 sq km

Bordering States:

Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Hungary, Kosovo, Macedonia, Montenegro, Romania

Main religions:

Christian (Orthodox), Islam






Serbian Dinar (RSD) [1 EUR = 102 RSD, 20 Jan 2011]

GDP (2008):

EUR 33,417.9 million = RSD 2,722,461.3 million

GDP per capita (2008):

EUR 4,546.5 = RSD 370,392


16.6% (SSO, 2nd quarter 2009)

Average monthly net wage:

EUR 308 = RSD 33,576 (October 2010)



Short chronology of EU accession:



10 October 2005

Start of negotiations on a Stabilisation and Association Agreement (SAA)

3 May 2006

SAA negotiations put on hold due to Serbia's lack of cooperation with the International Criminal Tribunal for Former Yugoslavia (ICTY)

13 June 2007

Resumption of SAA negotiations after Serbia commits itself to achieve full cooperation with ICTY

7 November 2007

Initialling of the SAA

1 January 2008

The agreement on Visa Facilitation enters into force

29 April 2008

Signing of the SAA and the Interim Agreement on Trade

7 May 2008

Serbia receives a Roadmap for visa liberalisation

15 July 2009

EU Commission proposes visa liberalisation

30 November 2009

Serbia is included in the Schengen White List

19 December 2009

Visa liberalisation enters into force

22 December 2009

Serbia submits its application for EU membership

25 October 2010

EU Commission is asked to prepare an opinion on Serbia

19 January 2011

EU Parliament ratifies SAA between EU and Serbia.



Prime ministers since the fall of Milosevic:



24 Oct 2000 – 25 Jan 2001

Milomir Minic (Socialist Party of Serbia – SPS)

25 Jan 2001 – 12 March 2003

Zoran Djindjic (Democratic Party – DS)

12 – 17 March 2003

Nebojsa Covic (Democratic Alternative)

17 – 18 March 2003

Zarko Korac (Social Democratic Party)

18 March 2003 – 3 March 2004

Zoran Zivkovic (Democratic Party – DS)

3 March 2004 – 7 July 2008

Vojislav Kostunica (Democratic Party of Serbia – DSS)

7 July 2008 – Present

Mirko Cvetkovic (Independent)



Membership in international organisations:




1 November 2000


10 November 2000

Council of Europe

3 April 2003


Observer status (negotiations started in Feb. 2005)


Joined the NATO Partnership for Peace programme (PfP) in December 2006








Boris Tadic (DS, since 11 July 2004)

Prime minister:

Mirko Cvetkovic (since 7 July 2008)

Political Parties:


Serbia has a single chamber parliament with 250 seats. The last parliamentary elections, held on 11 May 2008, produced the following results:

The coalition "For a European Serbia", led by President Boris Tadic, won 102 seats, with 64 seats going to Tadic's Democratic Party (DS) and 24 to Mladjan Dinkic's liberal-conservative G17+. The remaining seats have gone to smaller coalition partners: the League of Social Democrats of Vojvodina (LSV), the Social Democratic Party of Serbia (SDP), the Serbian Renewal Movement (SPO) and the Democratic League of Croats in Vojvodina (DSHV).

Despite the fact that its leader Vojislav Seselj is standing trial on war crimes charges at the ICTY in The Hague, the Serbian Radical Party (SRS) became the single biggest party in parliament after the 2008 elections, with 78 seats. In September 2008, however, SRS deputy leader Tomislav Nikolic resigned from the party and formed a 22 two MP-strong parliamentary group called "Forward Serbia", later turned into a the Serbian Progressive Party. The remaining 56 seats are still kept by the SRS.

The populist coalition of the Democratic Party of Serbia (DSS) of outgoing Prime Minister Vojislav Kostunica and New Serbia of Velimir Ilic has 30 seats.

A coalition led by the Socialist Party of Serbia (SDS) has 20 seats. The Liberal Democratic Party of Cedomir Jovanovic has 13 seats. 7 seats have gone to ethnic minority parties.

An up-to-date list of all political groups at the National Assembly can be accessed here.

The DS-led coalition formed a new government with the coalition led by the Socialist Party of Serbia and 3 small minority parties. It was elected by the National Assembly on 7 July 2008.

20 January 2011