Avrupa İstikrar Girişimi - ESI - 22 Şubat 2020, 06:53

 Back 10 - Next 

Viola von Cramon-Taubadel (Germany)

Viola von Cramon-Taubadel

"Mr Çavuşolĝlu's speech is incredible. As a former President of the Assembly, he should have known better than to make such a speech. I would never have thought that a former President could talk such nonsense.

"In response to Mr Kox: if one asked the Turkish or Azeri governments whether they had any political prisoners they would not admit it. But it was clear that such people existed, sometimes held on remand or in an administrative detention, but political prisoners nonetheless.

"It was a key task of the Assembly to define the term. The amendment agreed in Committee earlier in the day would mean that members of the Assembly would not be able to discuss the matter in future. Only the Court would be able to discuss it.

"This would undermine the mandate of the Assembly.

"I support the report but oppose the amendments.

"I also criticise the intimidation of the rapporteur. This undermines the role of the Assembly."

 Back 10 - Next 

Showdown in Strasbourg. The Political Prisoner Debate

  1. Setting
  2. Background to the Showdown in Strasbourg
  3. Christoph Straesser (Germany)
  4. Pietro Marcenario (Italy)
  5. Mailis Reps (Estonia)
  6. Elena Nikolayeva (Russia)
  7. Tiny Kox (Netherlands)
  8. Mevlut Cavusoglu (Turkey)
  9. Marina Schuster (Germany)
  10. Viola von Cramon-Taubadel (Germany)
  11. Andres Herkel (Estonia)
  12. Mike Hancock (UK)
  13. Leonid Slutsky (Russia)
  14. Serhiy Sobolev (Ukraine)
  15. Tadeusz Iwinski (Poland)
  16. Lise Christoffersen (Norway)
  17. Pedro Agramunt (Spain)
  18. Christoph Straesser (Germany)
  19. Mailis Reps (Estonia)
  20. Agustin Conde Bajen (Spain)
  21. Christoph Straesser (Germany)
  22. Who voted with Azerbaijan?
  23. Which countries voted with Azerbaijan?
  24. Who voted with Christoph Straesser?
  25. Which countries voted with Straesser?
  26. Original sources and background documents

© Avrupa İstikrar Girişimi - ESI 2020
22 Şubat 2020, 06:53