Ribčev Laz, Slovenia. Photo: Alan Grant
Ribčev Laz, Slovenia. Photo: Alan Grant

Official Name:

Republic of Slovenia


2,038,733 (Statistical Office of the Republic of Slovenia – SORS, 2009)
83.6% Slovene, 8.9% unknown/no answer, 2.0% Serb, 1.8% Croat, 1.1 % Bosniak, 0.3% Hungarian, 0.2% Macedonian, 0.2% Roma, 0.1% Italian. (Census 2002)

Capital city:

Ljubljana (276.091 inhabitants, SORS, December 2008)


20,273 km2

Land Boundaries:

1,382 km


46.6 km

Bordering States:

Austria 330 km, Croatia 670 km, Italy 280 km, Hungary 102 km




Euro (EUR)


EUR 37.3 Billion (SORS, 2008)

GDP per capita:

EUR 18,196  (SORS, 2008)


5.4% % (1st quarter 2009, SORS)

Average monthly wage:

EUR 1,429 (SORS June 2009)



Short chronology of EU accession:



Slovenia submits request for a Europe Agreement (precursor to the Association Agreement)

10 June 1996

Europe Agreement signed

11 November 1996

Slovenia and the EU sign an interim agreement on trade, implementing the trade aspects of the Europe Agreement

1 January 1997

Interim agreement on trade enters into force

13 December 1997

Luxembourg European Council gives go-ahead for membership negotiations to start with Slovenia (along with the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Poland and Cyprus)

31 March 1998

Start of accession negotiations

1 February 1999

Association Agreement comes into effect. Slovenia submits its official request for EU membership.

13 December 2002

Closure of negotiations

EU-15 agree to the accession of ten candidate states on 1 May 2004

17 April 2003

Signing of Accession Treaty in Athens

1 May 2004

Slovenia joins the EU





Prime ministers during the accession process and since Independence:


16 May 1990 – 14 May 1992

Alojz "Lojze" Peterle (Christian Democratic Party)

14 May 1992 – 3 May 2000

Janez Drnovsek (Liberal Democracy of Slovenia)

3 May 2000 – 4 Aug 2000

Andrej Bajuk (Slovene People's Party)

4 Aug 2000 – 17 Nov 2000

Andrej Bajuk (New Slovenia Christian People's Party)

17 Nov 2000 – 11 Dec 2002

Janez Drnovsek (Liberal Democracy of Slovenia)

11 Dec 2002 – 9 Nov 2004

Anton Rop (Liberal Democracy of Slovenia)

9 Nov 2004 – 21 Nov 2008

Janez Jansa (Slovenian Democratic Party)

21 Nov 2008 – 28 Jan 2012

Borut Pahor (Social Democratic Party)

28 Jan 2012 – present

Janez Jansa (Slovenian Democratic Party)



Membership in other international organisations:



22 May 1992


24 March 1992

Council of Europe

14 May 1993


30 July 1995


29 March 2004







Danilo Turk, a former diplomat, was elected to the post on 11 November 2007. He ran as an independent candidate, but had support of the center-left parties. He had been Slovenia's first ambassador to the U.N. in New York in 1992. From 2000 to 2005 he served as UN Assistant Secretary-General for Political Affairs.

Prime minister:

Janez Jansa, leader of the centre-right Slovenian Democratic Party (SDS), was confirmed by parliament as prime minister on 28 January 2012.

Jansa, already prime minister from 2004 to 2008 succeeds his own successor Borut Pahor, leader of the center-left Social Democrats. Pahor was ousted in a non-confidence vote on 23 September 2011 triggered by coalition infighting, primarily over how to overcome Slovenia’s recession.

Jansa’s Slovenian Democratic Party came second in the 4 December 2011 parliamentary vote. Zoran Jankovic, whose leftist Positive Slovenia won the elections as a new party, had failed to find enough coalition partners for a parliamentary majority.

Jansa is currently on trial for corruption (though this did not prevent him from becoming prime minister). Jansa and four other men are accused of receiving 2 million in bribes. He claims there is no evidence against him and rejects the charges as “absurd”.

His ruling coalition includes the center-right People’s Party, the centre-right New Slovenia, the centrist Civic List of Gregor Virant and The Pensioners’ Party of Slovenia (DeSUS).

Political Parties:

Following the last elections, held on 4 December 2011, the following parties are represented in the 90-seat national assembly:


Ruling Coalition (50 seats):


Slovenian Democratic Party (SDS) 26 seats

The center-right SDS party considers itself a successor of the DEMOS coalition that brought democratic changes to Slovenia after the end of communism. Since 1993 the party is led by Janez Jansa.

Gregor Virant's Civic List 8

Gregor Virant was minister of public administration in Jansa's previous government, though he was not a party member. Virant formed his own centrist party less than two months before the 4 December elections. Virant is currently speaker of the parliament.

Slovenian People's Party (SLS) 6

The party, led by Radovan Zerjav, traces its origins back to the Slovenian Peasant Union formed in 1988 as the first non-communist political organization in Yugoslavia. In 2000, it joined the centre-left government led by late Janez Drnovsek.

Democratic Party of Pensioners of Slovenia (DeSUS) 6

Formed initially to represent Slovenian pensioners, DeSUS, led by Karl Erjavec, became a member of Janez Jansa's governing coalition (2004-2008) as well as of Borut Pahor's centre-left government (2008-2011).

New Slovenia Christian People's Party 4

This center-right party was formed in 2000 after a split from the Slovenian People's Party.




Positive Slovenia 28 seats

A leftist party formed ahead of the 4 December elections by Zoran Jankovic, from 1997 to 2006 chief manager of Slovenia's supermarket chain Mercator. Afterwards Jankovic served two terms as mayor of Ljubljana.

Social Democrats (SD) 10

The centre-left SD, previously known as the United List of Social Democrats, is led by Borut Pahor since 2000. That year, the party entered Janez Drnovsek's ruling coalition. After four years in opposition starting in 2004, Pahor headed his own ruling coalition from 2008 until he lost a vote of confidence on 23 September 2011.

National Communities (Hungarian and Italian) 2

Seats set aside in the constitution for Slovenia's two traditional ethnic minorities.

31 January 2012